(Guest Review) Drowning In the Dark by Allison Karras

Title: Drowning In the Dark

Author: Allison Karras
Publisher: You Come Too Publishing
Format: ebook
Publication Date: February 11, 2011
Overall: 4/5
Source: From author for review.
There’s a demon walking the streets of Freeport. And only teenager Samantha Carver can stop it.

It’s hard to outrun your past. But that’s what Sam thought she could do. After moving to a sleepy town on the Oregon coast to live with relatives, she thought she was safe. She thought she could be someone different. She thought she could be a normal teenage girl.

However, the quiet coastal town of Freeport is no refuge. After a girl at the high school is brutally murdered, the police believe Samantha’s cousin and best friend, Terry, is responsible.

But Samantha knows what her friends, teachers, and the police don’t. The murderer isn’t human. Samantha has seen this before. Too many times. She has witnessed the dead rise from their graves and does unspeakable things. She carries the scars on her skin and the sorrow in her soul to prove it.

The evil that she thought she had left behind in the rotting graveyards of her past is still stalking her.

Will Samantha be able to save Terry, Freeport, and herself from the malevolent power that threatens to rip her world apart? Or will she succumb under a surging tide of evil and drown in the growing darkness that surrounds her?

In the tradition of Amanda Hocking and Charlaine Harris comes a paranormal romantic thriller with more chills than a cold and windblown night on the Oregon coast.

 Jenny’s Review:
This is an e-book about Samantha, who whilst growing up has witnessed dead bodies rising with evil spirits possessing them. This book follows Samantha through her time living with her relatives since loosing her parents, and her fight with the evil spirits catching up with her at her every turn.
I found this book a good short story read, it carries you along with what is happening to Samantha, her worries for her family and friends as well delving into the spirit world, with regards to the rising of the newly dead. I found it a compelling read and wanted to know how Samantha was going to deal with all the “problems” that appear to follow her around. I hope that there will be a next installment of Samantha’s adventures and cant wait to see where that will take her, her family and friends (new and old).
I enjoyed the plot line of this book, wanting to know what was going to happen next and how Samantha was going to deal with it.
Overall I would give this e-book a 4/5 as a short story. I’m sure people with an interest in “zombies”, and have limited time to read will find appealing and captivating. 
Jenny
4/5
**Please Note: This review is an honest opinion and no monetary compensation was received.**
Find Allison Karras online:
Buy Drowning In The Dark online:

Reviewed By: Jenny Needham