Bootlicker by Steve Piacente

Title: Bootlicker

Author: Steve Piacente
Publisher: 9 to 1 Press
Format: Paperback
Source: From author for review
Overall: 5/5 

In the summer of 1959, two black teens hoping to sneak a beer in the South Carolina woods chance on a lynching led by the local judge. One bolts. The other, Ike Washington, freezes and winds up with a choice: join the man about to die, or begin hustling black support the judge needs to advance in politics. In return, he will enjoy a life of power and comfort. In a year of heightened political sensitivities, Bootlicker goes where C-SPAN is never invited – to back rooms where deals are cut, futures are plotted, and where right and wrong are not so easily defined. Bootlicker is for women intrigued by powerful men, men intrigued by the path to power, and all who thought they understood politics.

 My Review:
Steve Piacente is an award-winning former journalist, whose writing will have readers addicted to political thrillers and suspense. For readers who are not familiar with Steve Piacente’s previous work, I would highly recommend the author’s debut novel, Bella. Bootlicker is the Prequel to Bella, starring different characters and presenting a whole new exciting journey.
It is evident that Steve Piacente placed a lot of time and effort into the development and combination of all the elements presented within Bootlicker. With the author’s careful attention to detail, the storyline as well as the characters within Bootlicker feel very realistic. Steve Piacente’s experience in journalism shines through his writing, which displays the author’s knowledge of how journalism truly impacts politics.
My favorite element within Bootlicker is the author’s writing style. Steve Piacente wastes no time getting right to the point, creating a fast-paced and quite enjoyable read. Although the novel was fast-paced, the storyline had depth and the characters were engaging throughout, which brought the whole novel together for me.
I recommend Bootlicker to readers who enjoy Suspense and Political Thrillers.
moonlight5
Must Read! Highly Recommended!
**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I received no monetary compensation from it.**
Find Steve Piacente online:
Buy Bootlicker online:
lucy