Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelly Coriell

17290286

 

Title: Goodbye, Rebel Blue
Author: Shelly Coriell
Publisher: Amulet Books/Abrams
Format: eBook
Publication Date: October 1, 2013
Overall: 4.5 out of  5

 

Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

 

 

 

Review:

This novel stole my heat from the moment I met Rebel. Goodbye, Rebel Blue was just amazing from start to finish. I had my concerns when the book started with Rebel and Kenedy were in detention. I didn’t want to read another book about an incredibly hurt girl who had terrible things happen to her. I got my wish. This book was so much more, Rebel was just a normal girl, she dealt with things that normal teenagers deal with. The best part of it was they were such normal problems.

 

I liked that even though Rebel liked to break the rules, she wasn’t self-destructive or cruel. Rebel grew up differently than most kids, and she didn’t learn all of the social norms that most people do. Her honesty was refreshing, because I never felt that Rebel was trying to be cruel. Rebel didn’t use her honest streak to lash out at people, and the one time she upset someone with it she was trying to just be honest with them.

 

I loved that Rebel decided she was going to finish Kennedy’s wish list. It was incredibly good for her, and I think it allowed her to break out of her shell. Rebel made mistakes when interacting with others, but it also gave other people a chance to see who she really was.

 

The side characters were just amazing in their own ways. I loved Macey and her damaged pie-baking, Gabby and her difficulty finding panache, and Penelope with her jealousy. It was great to see flawed supporting characters who could have easily carried a book all on their own. I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention the love interest Nate.

 

Nate was an incredibly good guy, there were times when he almost seemed too sweet. However, as the book went on it became more obvious why he seemed that way. When Rebel finally laid the truth out for him I did feel bad for him, but I’m glad it allowed him to learn and grow. Sometimes people need the brutal truth to help them follow their hearts.

 

I wasn’t sure what to rate this book given it was incredibly good but cliches were abundant even if they were with the love story. I would give it a 4.5 out of 5 because I would definitely recommend this book, but there just seemed to be a little something missing.

04half

4.5/5 – Fabulous Read, Recommended

**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

 

Find Shelly Coriell online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Buy Goodbye, Rebel Blue online:

Goodreads | Official Website | Kindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble

Happy Reading! 

kasey