Strange Skies by Kristi Helvig Review and Blog Tour


strangeskies
ssTitle:
 Strange Skies

Author: Kristi Helvig
Publisher: EgmontUSA

Format: eBook
Publication Date: April 28, 2015

Overall: Rating on 5

Source: RockStar Book Tours & the Author

Action, adventure, and romance are heating up in this sequel to the futuristic science fiction thriller Burn Out. Perfect for fans of Across the Universe and The Memory of After.

Caelia is the new Earth. That’s what the Consulate told everyone and, against all odds, Tora finally has made it there. She can’t see the ocean from her cell in the Consulate’s containment center, and she doesn’t know what happened to the weapons her father died for and she’s risked her life to save.

But as she plans her escape, she runs into the last person she ever expected to see-her dad. The Consulate has kept held him prisoner in a complicated plot designed to lure Tora out of hiding. Now Tora has a new purpose: break free, get the guns, and save her father.

But first she’ll have to navigate a strange new planet, track down James (whose loyalties still remain questionable), and find Kale…before he finds her first.

Releases simultaneously in eBook format (ISBN: 978-160684-482-3).

Story Locale: Caelia, a planet colonized after Earth becomes unhabitable

Series Overview: In a future where the sun has turned into a red giant, making Earth unhabitable, a teen girl fights for survival while trying to protect the special weapons her father invented from falling into government control.

Excerpt

“I’d gotten about halfway down the hall when I heard a noise from somewhere behind me. I turned around but saw nothing there. As I took another step, other sounds became clearer- footsteps and voices. It was the large woman and someone else. Not the doctor, but the person sounded vaguely familiar.

They had to be heading toward my room. The sound of a door opening followed by teh woman’s loud, panicked voice confirmed it. No way had it been two hours, had it? Crap. I attempted to run to the exit, but it ended up being more like a drunken shuffle. I’d never make it.

The door on my right-hand side was only a foot away. It didn’t have a lock either, and was my only shot. They would turn the corner in a second and see me. I lurched for the door. Inside, I sut it and pressed my back against it to hold them out. My legs were rubbery and I knew I couldn’t hold on for much longer. I was out of juice.

I leaned my head back and looked around the room. It was identical to mine, down to the bed and table. Down to a figure lying comatose in the center of the bed, though the person, at least, had managed to pull the covers up around them. Curious about my fellow prisoner, I stepped toward the bed. It wasn’t like I had the strength to keep anyone out of the room anyway.

The blanket covered most of his face but his forehead was covered in sweat. At least I assumed it was a “he” due to the short gray hair. It must be close to his next dose time too. The building’s cooling system must have been out of whack- unless they were using a bizarre method of torture my climate control. I reached out and tugged the cover down. Holy mother of god.”

krsAbout Kristi:

Kristi Helvig is a Ph.D. clinical psychologist turned sci-fi/fantasy author. Her first novel, BURN OUT (Egmont USA), which Kirkus Reviews called “a scorching series opener not to be missed,” follows 17-year-old Tora Reynolds, one of Earth’s last survivors, when our sun burns out early. In the sequel, STRANGE SKIES, coming 4/28/2015, Tora makes it to a new planet only to discover a whole new host of problems—and the same people who still want her dead. Order Kristi’s books through Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or your favorite local retailer. Kristi muses about Star Trek, space monkeys, and other assorted topics on her blog at www.kristihelvig.com and Twitter (@KristiHelvig). You can also find her on Facebook. Kristi resides in sunny Colorado with her hubby, two kiddos, and behaviorally-challenged dogs.
Website  |  Blog | Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Tour Schedule

 

Week One:

4/20/2015- Dark Faerie Tales– Interview

4/21/2015- Curling Up With A Good Book– Review

4/22/2015- Such a Novel Idea– Guest Post

4/23/2015- Addicted Readers– Review

4/24/2015- A Book and a Latte– Interview

 

Week Two:

4/27/2015- Reading with ABC– Guest Post

4/28/2015- Moonlight Gleam Reviews– Review

4/29/2015- Bookhounds ya– Interview

4/30/2015- Library of a Book Witch– Review

5/1/2015- Two Chicks on Books– Guest Post

 

Buy Strange Skies online:

Goodreads | Official Website Kindle | Amazon | Book Depository

Happy Reading Everyone!

Kasey-1