A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

ctrTitle:  A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J Maas
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publisher

Format: eBook
Publication Date: Bloomsbury Children’s

Overall: 5 out of 5 stars 

Source: NetGalley

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Timesbestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

 

 review

Omg….this book. It just slayed me, because it was amazing from start to finish. I loved Feyre and Tamlin, and the descriptions of their world were just incredible. Sarah J. Maas was incredible in character development and world building here. I have never wanted to know what was going on more, because it was clear from the beginning that there was a mystery to be solved.

I have to say that I understood Feyre, and while she may have been a “half-wild savage” she had the best of intentions. It made me so upset to see the way her sisters treated her, especially since she kept them fed and clothed. Granted it wasn’t what they were accustomed too, but that was hardly Feyre’s fault. I just hated her family at times for allowing her to be taken away and their memories wiped. Although, as much as I thought Nesta was horrible at least she didn’t forget. She loved Feyre but I don’t think she was really the maternal type.

The whole mystery surrounding why Feyre got to leave her home and travel to the faerie lands, lasted the entire book. I was so intrigued with what was going on, and I loved watching Feyre and Tamlin dance around each other. Both of them were so incredibly stubborn, and while I understand why Tamlin couldn’t just tell her, it was frustrating once I got to the end of the book.

I spent most of the book thinking that this was going to be a typical fantasy romance novel, but that is not what I got. The side characters were equally amazing. Lucien and Rhys were some of my most favorite side characters ever, and I’m very interested in seeing more of them in the future installments. They were both well-rounded characters, and both of them broke my heart at different points in the book.

This book got dark. I mean it didn’t exactly start out in sunshine and roses, but after Feyre moves with Tamlin to Faerie it really was looking up, and then the last 35% of the book got dark. It took a turn that I definitely was not expecting. I’m pretty sure I spent the whole time being horrified. I wanted Tamlin and Feyre to have their happy ending, but holy lord did they have to go through some stuff to get it. I absolutely loved this book, and now I’m dying because I can’t wait for the rest of the series. I would give this book 5 out of 5 stars because it was just that amazing! I highly recommend for lovers of fantasy, faeries, romance, and NO LOVE TRIANGLE.

 

 

 

05

5/5 – MUST READ, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

 **Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

Find SARAH J. MAAS online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Buy A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES online:

Goodreads | Official WebsiteKindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble

Happy Reading Everyone!

Kasey-1