Love Lucas, by Chantele Sedwick

llTitle: Love Lucas

Author: Chantele Sedgwick

Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Format: eBook

Publication Date: May 5, 2015

Overall: 3 out of 5

Source: Edelweiss

 

A powerful story of loss, second chances, and first love, reminiscent of Sarah Dessen and John Green.

When Oakley Nelson loses her older brother, Lucas, to cancer, she thinks she’ll never recover. Between her parents’ arguing and the battle she’s fighting with depression, she feels nothing inside but a hollow emptiness. When Mom suggests they spend a few months in California with Aunt Jo, Oakley isn’t sure a change of scenery will alter anything, but she’s willing to give it a try.

In California, Oakley discovers a sort of safety and freedom in Aunt Jo’s beach house. Once they’re settled, Mom hands her a notebook full of letters addressed to her—from Lucas. As Oakley reads one each day, she realizes how much he loved her, and each letter challenges her to be better and to continue to enjoy her life. He wants her to move on.

If only it were that easy.

But then a surfer named Carson comes into her life, and Oakley is blindsided. He makes her feel again. As she lets him in, she is surprised by how much she cares for him, and that’s when things get complicated. How can she fall in love and be happy when Lucas never got the chance to do those very same things?

With her brother’s dying words as guidance, Oakley knows she must learn to listen and trust again. But will she have to leave the past behind to find happiness in the future?

review

 

 

This book was good, but there was just something about it that didn’t fully capture me. I liked Oakley, and I felt that she was a pretty accurate representation of someone who lost their brother. Except that I just felt like she moved on pretty quickly, and it’s not that she forgot about Lucas or acted like he didn’t exist. It was just that she really tried to live her life, and I know that’s what Lucas would have wanted, but I expected a little more grief. I was glad that she met Carson, and I think they were very good for each other. He was a very nice guy, and deserved someone like Oakley.

My only complaint is that Oakley and Carson were kind of perfect. Their flaws were pretty minor, and it felt like the side characters in this book got all of the darkness these two should have been carrying around. What ended up happening was that all of the characters felt 2 dimensional, and maybe that’s where it fell flat for me. Also there is an event towards the end of this book that just leaves me feeling like……..whaaaaat?

sherlockno

Overall I did enjoy it, but because of it’s little quirks I can really only give it 3 out of 5 stars. I do recommend for fans of John Green and Sarah Dessen like the synopsis says, but just don’t expect it to be quite that great.

03

3/5 – Worth Reading

**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

Find Chantele Sedgwick online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Buy Love Lucas online:

Goodreads | Official WebsiteKindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble

Happy Reading Everyone!

 

Kasey