The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi ReviewBL

Title: The Night We Said Yes

Author: Lauren Gibaldi
Publisher:   HarperTeen

Format: eBook
Publication Date:  June 16, 2015

Overall: 3 out of 5 stars

Source: Edelweiss

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

reviewThis book was a cute and fun read. It moved fairly quickly and introduced alot of characters in a small period of time. Ella seemed to be alot of fun, and Matt seemed like her perfect match. I think that the addition of the Ella’s best friend was one of the best parts of the book. Meg was the perfect companion to Ella, and constantly pushing everyone around her to try new things. 

The hardest part of this book for me was the switching between past and present. Because every chapter alternated I didn’t feel very connected to the characters in either timeframe, and honestly I didn’t really like Matt all that much in the present. He had alot of excuses and reasons why he abandoned everyone, and it just seemed really false and overdramatic. Maybe it was because he seemed so quiet and understated in the ‘past’ scenes, that watching him talk about why he left just seemed way to attention seeking.

Also, I didn’t love the ending. One minute Ella’s deciding whether or not she’s going to take another chance on this relationship and then the next chapter she’s about to leave for college and she’s at a fair with Matt. Like holy hell I missed some big pieces. I’m a reader that likes detail and likes scenes between my romantic interests. Telling me all about their past, and then watching them navigate the present with broken hearts, only to be thrust 3 months in the future where everything is perfect just didn’t sit well with me. I think that many people will love this type of romance, but I can only give it 3 out of 5 stars.

03

3/5 – Worth Reading


**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

 

Find Lauren Gibaldi online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Buy The Night We Said Yes online:

Goodreads | Official WebsiteKindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble