What’s Broken Between Us by Alexis Bass Review

What'sBrokenBetweenUsTitle:  What’s Broken Between Us

Author: Alexis Bass

Publisher: HarperCollins

Format: eBook

Publication Date: December 29, 2015

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars

Source: Edelweiss

Alexis Bass’s heartbreakingly beautiful second novel is a tale of love, loss, and learning to forgive, perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and of Robyn Schneider’s The Beginning of Everything.

A year and a half ago, Amanda Tart’s brother got behind the wheel drunk and killed his best friend. Today, he’s coming home from prison.

Amanda’s been the one living with the fallout, made worse by her brother’s recent unapologetic TV interview. People think he’s a monster. Still, she loves him. It’s her dark secret, until she starts getting close to Henry again–whose sister is paralyzed from the accident.

A year and a half ago, her brother destroyed his life. Now Amanda has to decide if she’ll let his choice destroy hers.

review

Well this book is difficult to write a review for because my first impression was that it was a slightly better than average contemporary YA story. However I have to admit that this story has stuck with me for the last day or so, and so I’m forced to conclude that it is better than I originally anticipated. Amanda felt surprisingly real for a fictional character especially given these circumstances. Generally in books like this I find that the character is one-dimensional but that wasn’t the case here. Amanda makes bad decisions, but they don’t make her a bad person. Especially given all she’s been through, but what really endeared me to her was the fact that she wasn’t interested in making excuses.

It was obvious why she struggled with certain decisions, and in the end Amanda knew that she should have done things differently, but at the same time she couldn’t bring herself to regret it. I completely get why too. Also, Johnathon as terrible as he was, I could understand how Amanda still loved him. After all, he’s her brother, and he truly cares for her but his selfishness and destructive behavior are the driving forces in this book. This book just stuck with me for days, and I kept thinking of Amanda and Johnathon and the situation and how badly I felt for them. 4 out of 5 stars.

04

4/5 – An Enjoyable Read, Well Written


**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

Find ALEXIS BASS online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Buy WHAT’S BROKEN BETWEEN US online:

Goodreads | Official WebsiteKindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble