Between Us and the Moon by Rebecca Maizel

MoonandUSTitle: Between Us and the Moon

Author: Rebecca Maizel

Publisher:  HarperTeen

Format: eBook

Publication Date: June 30, 2015

Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Source: Edelweiss

A luminous young adult novel that evokes Judy Blume’s Forever for a new generation.

Ever since Sarah was born, she’s lived in the shadow of her beautiful older sister, Scarlett. But this summer on Cape Cod, she’s determined to finally grow up. Then she meets gorgeous college boy Andrew. He sees her as the girl she wants to be. A girl who’s older than she is. A girl like Scarlett.

Before she knows what’s happened, one little lie has transformed into something real. And by the end of August, she might have to choose between falling in love, and finding herself.

Fans of Jenny Han and Stephanie Perkins are destined to fall for this story about how life and love are impossible to predict.

review

I might be too old to read contemporary YA.  This book was actually incredibly well-written and if I were still a teen or near that age I might be able to relate better, but throughout this whole book I just kept thinking that the main character was SO irresponsible with someone else’s future. Which is understandable considering Sarah is 16 and has no concept of the consequences of her behavior, but it gave me a headache trying to read it. I think for a younger audience they would have really enjoyed this coming of age story. I will say the one thing that I did appreciate was that she owned her actions, once she realized what her actions could cost Andrew. Especially because he wasn’t at fault really, I mean she told him she was 18, and its not like you check ID’s when you’re that age.

Sarah did do a lot of growing throughout the book, and I think in a way it shows that these are the things we should let our kids experience. Heartbreak and adventure and learning how to be an adult. Sarah had been so sheltered, and because of her personality she kept herself apart from the standard experiences that most kids are already figuring out by 16. However, she learned who she was and who she really wanted to be. I would actually recommend this book to the right age group or anyone who loves a great coming of age story. Despite my own eye rolling, I have to give the book a 3.5 out of 5 stars because it was very good.

03half3.5/5 – A Great Read, Well-Written

**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

Find REBECCA MAIZEL online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Buy BETWEEN US AND THE MOON online:

Goodreads | Official WebsiteKindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble

Happy Reading!!

Kasey-1