A Drop of Night by Stefan Bachman

adonTitle: A Drop of Night

Author: Stefan Bachman

Publisher:  Greenwillow Books

Format: eBook

Publication Date: March 15, 2016

Overall: 3.5 out of 5 stars 

Source: Edelweiss

Seventeen-year-old Anouk has finally caught the break she’s been looking for—she’s been selected out of hundreds of other candidates to fly to France and help with the excavation of a vast, underground palace buried a hundred feet below the suburbs of Paris. Built in the 1780’s to hide an aristocratic family and a mad duke during the French Revolution, the palace has lain hidden and forgotten ever since. Anouk, along with several other gifted teenagers, will be the first to set foot in it in over two centuries.

Or so she thought.

But nothing is as it seems, and the teens soon find themselves embroiled in a game far more sinister, and dangerous, than they could possibly have imagined. An evil spanning centuries is waiting for them in the depths. . .

A genre-bending thriller from Stefan Bachmann for fans of The Maze Runner and Joss Whedon’s The Cabin in the Woods.

You cannot escape the palace.

You cannot guess its secrets.

review

A Drop of Night was messed up, it definitely had a feeling of creepiness and eeriness. I can see where the comparisons for Cabin in the Woods come from, because Anouk is clever, funny, and sarcastic. I really enjoyed this book, and it felt like I was holding my breath for most of it.

The book is split between two viewpoints, Aurelie and Anouk. Aurelie’s story is set in 1780 and revolves around her family, and the house her father is building. They are on the run from the Resistance, and flee into the underground house. Thus begins a series of events that are creepy and terrifying.

Bachman does a fabulous job of building the setting here. I could visualize clearly the underground house, and its many rooms cast in an eerie blue-green light from being so far below the earth. Just thinking about some of these rooms gives me the heebie-jeebies all over again. I think that the writing could have been a little stronger in side character development. The other characters felt pretty flat and one dimensional, and served mostly to prop up Anouk in her attempts to leave the house. Overall I would give this a 3.5 out of 5 stars for the creativity that it displayed. Perfect for fans of thrillers and horror novels.

03half3.5/5 – A Great Read, Well-Written

**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

Find STEFAN BACHMAN online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Buy A DROP OF NIGHT online:

Goodreads | Official WebsiteKindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble

You will die. You will step through those doors and he will see you. His eyes shall eat you like mouths, and you will lie on the floor, and ants and wasps and nits will crawl from your wounds like drops of night. Four little plums, all chewed up.”