A Night In With Grace Kelly by Lucy Holliday

ANGKTitle: A Night In With Grace Kelly

Author: Lucy Holliday

Publisher:  Harper

Format: eBook

Publication Date: January 24, 2017

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars 

Source: Edelweiss

The LOL finale to the series that started with A Night in With Audrey Hepburn. Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Lindsey Kelk.

Fate has got it in for Libby Lomax. She realised, far too late, that her best friend Olly, is the actual Love of Her Life. Now he’s in love with the so-nice-it-hurts, Tash, and it looks like her happy ending is completely out of reach.

Things start looking up when she, quite literally, runs into the completely gorgeous Joel. Libby discovers that there is more to Joel than his six-pack, not least, the incredible fact that he honestly believes he has found his fairy tale princess in her.

And if this wasn’t enough, an unwanted guest shows up on Libby’s enchanted sofa; Grace Kelly, wearing her iconic wedding dress and convinced that Libby is figment of her imagination. But one thing that Grace doesn’t believe in is fairy tales. Grace believes that if you really want something, then you’ve got to make it happen yourself; words which give Libby hope that happy endings aren’t just for fairy tale princesses…

review

This was a pretty spectacular finale to a great series. Libby is flat out hilarious in this book, but this book is also just a little bit sad. For most of the book we see both Libby and Olly trying hard to keep the fact that they love each other hidden. It was mostly sad because neither of them could see the feelings of the other. Libby assumed that Olly being with Tash meant that he was over her, and Olly assumed that Libby still only considered him as her best friend. It was wholly frustrating to watch this play out.

I’ve mostly enjoyed the side characters in this series, but I definitely didn’t love Tash and Joel. Tash because while she was sweet and happy and upbeat, had that mean streak that I didn’t appreciate. I don’t think that girlfriends should come between two friends of the opposite sex. If someone is insecure, then it’s something to be examined in yourself and the relationship, and does not give grounds for sabotage and manipulation. Joel was just weird. On paper he seemed like a great guy, but there was just always a weird vibe with him, and that weird vibe turned out to be his ridiculously high standards.

However frustrating this was it was nothing combined with the book skipping time to Libby’s wedding. Libby and Joel’s wedding. Like wtf. I was horrified, I knew Libby wanted to move on from Olly but that just felt like a crazy leap. Thankfully the events that followed utterly redeemed the book, and the happily ever after ending I wanted came true. Despite the few aggravating things I still have to give the book 4 out of 5 stars because it is just so well-written.

044/5 – An Enjoyable Read, Well Written

**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

Find LUCY HOLLIDAY  online:

Official Website | Goodreads | Twitter |

Buy A NIGHT IN WITH GRACE KELLY online:

Goodreads | Official Website Kindle | Amazon | Barnes&Noble

 

Happy Reading Everyone!!

Kasey-1