Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi Review

Title: Children of Blood and Bone

Author: Tomi Adeyemi

Narrator: Bahni Turpin

Publisher:  MacMillan Audio

Format: Audiobook

Publication Date: March 6th 2018

Overall: 4 out of 5 stars

Source:  Libby (Overdrive)

 

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir. 

They killed my mother.

They took our magic.

They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers – and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Children of Blood and Bone was one of my favorite books of 2018. This was a hybrid read for me combining both reading and audiobook. Bahni Turpin as narrator was awesome, and her voice is what drew me into this book from the beginning. She conveyed Zelie’s passion and fire from the moment the book started, but she also she brought Amari’s timidness to the forefront, and I really enjoyed that dichotomy. Inan was a hard character for me, and I will say that I wrinkled my nose at the instant attraction that he and Zelie felt for each other. It just felt trite and just gave them an excuse not to harm each other(I would have preferred ACTUAL thinking here).Zelie was obnoxious, there were times when I seriously wanted to scream at her much like Tzain did. In fact the character I probably identified with the most was Tzain! Tzain was the only one who consistently tried to think things out and be responsible. Zelie really wanted to and she did try but it is the opposite of her personality. I did really like the journey that Zelie and Amari went on, because really it’s about these two women finding who they are and growing in this world that they so fundamentally dislike. I think Zelie will have gained maturity because of the events at the end. And more importantly she will be free for the first time in her life and I do think that will help settle her down(I hope).

There were pacing issues that I noticed, but I think those were negated for me mostly because I listened to the first half, and so it came across very differently. When I picked up the actual book, I did notice it more and it did bother me especially as we started to get to the end. Reading it, it felt like it was dragging on forever and I just wanted them to hurry up and get to the dang island! Overall I think this was a fabulous book and it was definitely a favorite, but there were improvements that could be made and I’m excited for book 2!

4/5 – An Enjoyable Read, Well Written

**Please Note: This review is my honest opinion and I did not receive monetary compensation from it.**

Find TOMI ADEYEMI online:
Buy CHILDREN OF BLOOD AND BONE online:
 “You crushed us to build your monarchy on the backs of our blood and bone. Your mistake wasn’t keeping us alive. it was thinking we’d never fight back”
― Tomi Adeyemi, Children of Blood and Bone